Home > Forums > Critics Coaster Discussion > View Topic
( Moderators: ThmPrkCrtc, BobFunland, adriahna )
Hop Forums:
Page [ 1 of 1 ] [ 1 ]
Author Great Escape
MartyMoose

4/1/2006 2:07:30 PM
I'm considering taking the family on a trip to Six Flags Great Escape this summer. I know absolutely nothing about the park. What rides are can't misses? What should I avoid? Is the park worth the approximate three-hour drive I'd be making?

Also --- I just recently discovered this site, and absolutely love it. I'm a huge amusement park fan, although I've really only visited a few parks. I'm a resident of Northeasern PA, and have been going to Knoebels since I was about seven years-old. (Let's just say I'm thirty-something now.) Like many of you whose posts I've been reading, I consider Knoebels to be the greatest park going, and I hope to be contibuting a few reviews and trip reports of my own over the next few months.

Anyway, thanks for any advice you can give me about Great Escape, and I look forward to adding my own two cents to this forum.
mrceagle

4/2/2006 5:54:40 PM
I have been going to the Great Escape for a few years now. I actually took the longer trip to TGE more times last year then trips to SFNE. It’s not a mega park. But it has some charm. As far as can’t miss rides, there aren’t many. The Comet wood coaster is a fantastic coaster and the best one they have. If you’re lucky you will get a ride on the Alpine Bobsled another good coaster. They have Nightmare a fun indoor coaster, but hit it early lines can get long. Outside of these there are no coasters to talk about a few clones and just bad coasters.

The park has a standard collection of flats. Mostly family rides the park has really only 2 thrill rides. The park dose have 2 really enjoyable water rides. There flume has these dark rides sections with characters running a mill. There raft ride is allot of fun and deceivingly long.