Home > Connecticut > Lake Compounce > Boulder Dash > Review Comments

 Review of Boulder Dash @ Lake Compounce
1 Rating Posted by: Scott on 2/1/2005 6:48:00 PM
This is an absolutley amazing coaster. Amazing. I expected a small mine train like coaster... boy was I blown away! The ride starts with a small left turn out of the station and goes up the lift hill. What follows is an insane ride with amazing laterals. Its almost impossible to know which way your headed. The extremely thick woods dont help either. Even though the track is only 15 ft above ground level there are many huge drops. Boulders and smaller trees are even worked into the structure of this ride! The back seat is insane. It provides extreme laterals and negatives. When we hit the monster first drop I was thrown out of my seat and I swore Id be flung into the woods! The first drop WILL catch anyone of gaurd. Sadly Boulder Dash begins to slow down and is slowly lulled back into the station. Boulder Dash ends with some small bunny hops and a nice turn near the lake. Im sorry for this relatively short review. Its hard to review such a disorienting, confusing ride. Once again, I feel that I cant do this amazing ride justice. Sorry!

Review Comments

larrygator on 2/2/2005 12:47:48 AM said:
Scott - how many times did you ride? I also thought it was slow the first 2-3 times I rode early in the day but it seemed to pick up steam as the day went on and the track warmed up. Ah, the beauty of a wood coaster.
Hercules on 2/2/2005 1:37:33 AM said:
Ah, yes so true larrygator. Wildcat at Hershey always seems to get going a little better as the day wears on. It was decent in the early part of the day one time that I rode it, but by the end of the night it was skimin. I would love to ride Boulder Dash. Looks like an absolutely great coaster. Truely something that I am sure I will be blown away by.
Scott on 2/2/2005 9:25:19 AM said:
Only 3 times. I was a little short on time and also wanted to get rides on wildcat. I really, really want to ride it at night.
mrceagle on 2/2/2005 12:24:01 PM said:
It also depends on the weatther. the coaster is slower when its cold. but youll find most coasters get moving better as the day go on.
papa1958 on 2/2/2005 7:57:35 PM said:
Scotts observation about going slowly back to station is not consistent with my experience. Indeed, one of the many virtues of this ride is that the pace never lets up.
Mt. Flyer on 2/2/2005 10:33:36 PM said:
One day I rode BD nine times over the course of six hours. I have never experienced a change in ride intensity on any other ride the way I did on Boulder Dash that day. The difference between ride one and nine was obvious in the extreme. Early in the day, Boulder Dash was giving rides like a family coaster with a bit of intensity. The final rides were taken with an intensity that rivaled even the great S:ROS just up north in SFNE. Boulder Dash is great BECAUSE it gives such a wide variety of rides.
mrceagle on 2/3/2005 10:43:49 AM said:
The park owned heater fans to heat up the track on cold days. if its too cold the train wont make it to the bracks.
ibluv on 2/3/2005 12:16:48 PM said:
I knew there was a reason it seemed to go faster in cold weather. And it really does go faster as the day wears on. I´ve ridden it for nearly four hours straight in the back and I can tell you the difference between 11am and 3pm is at least 20mph and probably more. The speed is listed as 60mph but on good days it can approach 70. And those heater fans really do a good job cuz it´s faster than ever in October. 80 wouldn´t surprise me.
mrceagle on 2/3/2005 4:29:53 PM said:
anyways this hapons with every coaster. A worm Humed day is actually great for a coasater. though its bad for the Guest.
ibluv on 2/5/2005 11:47:39 AM said:
But not every coaster goes at a break-neck pace like BD
mrceagle on 2/6/2005 10:04:50 PM said:
What dose that have to do with them slowign down on cold days? but yes the coaster is fast. The fact its in the woods it tends to go faster.
BobFunland on 2/6/2005 10:18:35 PM said:
Its location in the woods does not make it go faster, it may merely make it seem like its going faster.
If the rails are warmed, whether its after a long day of operation, or just due to the heat, it will push its speed up a bit, but not in astronomical increments. And sorry, but I dont think that 80mph is possible, 70mph may be a strtech.
mrceagle on 2/6/2005 10:41:07 PM said:
The park has admited to getign it to 65 and need 68 on a verry hot lay but no faster. I know quite well that the woods dosnt make it go faster. I convayed that last statment wrong. I was trying to talk about the optical ilusion.
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics