Home > Forums > Trip Reports and Tips > View Topic
( Moderators: ThmPrkCrtc, BobFunland, adriahna )
Hop Forums:
Page [ 1 of 1 ] [ 1 ]
Author Knoebels and Dorney Park
coasterf42

8/16/2007 7:13:27 PM
This doesn't sound like much of a trip, especially since it's on a weekend (8/25-8/26), but I am very excited. I've never done back to back parks before, and both of the parks I've never visited.

I know about the rides well enough, but is there anything else that I should know about the parks/areas before I embark on my first ever coaster trip? Especially, is there anything really great to eat at either of the parks or the surrounding areas? Also, how great is camping at Knoebels?
hrrytraver

8/17/2007 1:30:33 AM
check out "maple donut" in yocumtown, pa. it hangs over i-83 somewhere between harrisburg and york. you can see the big donut icon from the freeway.

they're open 24 hrs and the staff there has not been terribly friendly to me the two times i've stopped through. however, the donuts are great and the atmosphere is very unique.

it's an easy stop if you're taking 1-83 back into/out of MD. if you go the "philly" route to allentown/elysburg you'll miss out not only on maple donut, but also on a much more scenic and interesting ride.

--------------------
the following sentence is false.
the preceding sentence is true.
Message updated 8/17/2007 7:37:03 AM by hrrytraver
RCGenius

8/17/2007 6:29:50 AM
Let me be the first to say that camping at Knoebels is a total must. I haven't done it in five years (which I really regret), but from what I remember doing it with my family, it was awesome. It's definitely worth spending the whole weekend there as you'll be in comfortable log cabins with a bunk bed & you can start campfires whenever you want. It's also nice to see Knoebels from wherever you're staying at & to just get to the amazing park in only a walking distance further enhances the enjoyment you'll have there.
Canobie Coaster

8/17/2007 5:16:19 PM