Home > Connecticut > Lake Compounce > Boulder Dash > Review Comments

 Review of Boulder Dash @ Lake Compounce
0 Rating Posted by: Got_it on 11/1/2006 11:26:00 PM
I am not a big fan of Out and Back coasters, but Boulder Dash is more then just any old Out and Back. It uses the mountain, not only for the great scenery, but because of its location, the first half of the ride (the "out"is higher up then the second part (the "back" which makes this ride keep up its speed until the very end. Boulder Dash also has some of the laterals you can find. The track has little to no banking, so the turn arounds and random shifts in the track, give nice laterals. Boulder Dash has also been retracked, for your riding pleasure, it is just as smooth as the day that it opened, but still gives that out of control feeling. Boulder Dash is s must for anyone.

Review Comments

mrceagle on 11/4/2006 2:48:58 PM said:
What loosed points? Why the 2 point drop? not that an 8 is a bad score but curious to what brought your rating down.
Got_it on 11/5/2006 6:10:39 PM said:
Its just not my kind of coaster. I would rather ride an old classic woodie like the Wild Cat with Buzz bars and Skids then the Boulder Dash, I just like the classic feeling of a ride. Although Boulder has been running like its 40 years older then it really is.
mrceagle on 11/5/2006 9:19:56 PM said:
i know about Boulders Problems this year. the park is investing allot of money to fix them for next year. but thats for clearing things up.
Got_it on 11/5/2006 9:31:21 PM said:
I know they are, Im well aware trust. Are you the same mrceagle from LakeCompounce.org? Because Im <3 Wild Cat.
mrceagle on 11/5/2006 9:37:00 PM said:
Yes I am. I Keep my user name the same so People know me on other sites. Im a member of many sites. i get your point But have trouble agreeing with a 2 point deduction for a wish of something more classic 1 maybe. but Buzz bars are hard to come by and Depending on State ride regs may have not been an option.
Got_it on 11/6/2006 12:35:03 AM said:
Im not saying the Boulder Dash should have been built with them, you would fly out. I am just like the classic feeling, that the Boulder Dash just doesnt have.

Minus the Mountain, its just another O&B coaster to me.
Got_it on 11/6/2006 12:45:07 AM said:
Oh one other thing. When they re-track it, they arnt putting any trims in right? Because that would just kill the ride.
ibluv on 11/6/2006 10:25:29 AM said:
To my knowledge theyre not. The only trim will be at the turn around to keep the train from flying off the track.
mrceagle on 11/6/2006 10:36:15 AM said:
There is not talks of trimming the coaster. The maintenance staff uses the daily wheel greasing to help control the speed. and the Turn ibluv is worried about was re profiled 2 years ago.
ibluv on 11/6/2006 11:10:11 AM said:
It was reprofiled to make it less crazy but the trims still there.
Got_it on 11/6/2006 2:54:43 PM said:
No there isnt...there is a anti-roll back strip, if that is what you are thinking of.
mrceagle on 11/6/2006 4:30:03 PM said:
Ive only ridden in the front a few times but I dont ever remember seeing a trim brake.
ibluv on 11/6/2006 5:27:08 PM said:
Theres always been a "trim" there, right before the train heads back toward the station. If you dont consider it a trim than tell me the difference, cuz it looks and sounds like a trim.
Got_it on 11/6/2006 8:15:55 PM said:
No a trim, is an actual break, that clamps the bottom to slow it down. This is just the other way around. Its just a piece of the stuff that make the train "click" up the hill. They have it, because the train can go rather slow though there at times, and they wouldnt want it to roll back, if there were high winds, there is also some right on the last hill, before you hit the break run.

This a picture of one from the Wild Cat, http://s10.photobucket.com/albums/a146/Block_Party/?action=view¤t=Shot_016.jpg&refPage=&imgAnch=imgAnch2
mrceagle on 11/7/2006 10:19:39 PM said:
The Anti roll back device is all I have seen also. Its a Line of metal with ridges on it. there is a Metal Clamp so to speak under the train that catches it if the train rolls back. Every coaster has these for safety reasons.
ibluv on 11/8/2006 2:31:29 PM said:
Well sorry I dont know the difference between that and a trim. Guess Im purty dumb!
Got_it on 11/8/2006 5:40:54 PM said:
Got_it on 11/8/2006 7:21:26 PM said:
Naw Im kidding. If your not really listening I could see how one would mistake that. And at 35-45 mph, it just looks like a blob of metal in the track.
mrceagle on 11/8/2006 10:27:57 PM said:
No one is passing names Im sure there are allot of people that dont know the deference. Take it as a learning opportunity.
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics