Home > Tennessee > Dollywood > Thunderhead > Review Comments

 Review of Thunderhead @ Dollywood
0 Rating Posted by: woofboy111 on 7/13/2006 1:09:00 AM
Let me start out by saying that I thought Dollywood was a horrible park. I had good expectations and was highly let down. The park did have a few redeeming qualitys though. Thunderhead was one of them. The coaster did not seem like much (especially with only a 100 foot drop), but I cant say too much bad about it. It was set up perfectly. You really couldnt see to much of what happened beyond the curves that went in front of the station and the peak of the lift hill. Once I sat down in the train, the first thing I noticed was the extra padded seats compared to other wood coasters. To me, that either ment that the ride would be horrible painful and the extra padding was an attempt to make up for it, or the padding would provide an exceptionally confortable ride. The second choice turned out to be correct. The ride started with a spiral under the station and up the lift hill (which provided mist to cool of the riders). Then over the first drop into a curve, and up around a highly banked turn, and then beyond that the coaster train took me through a twisted mess of wooden coaster bliss. There was air time all over the place in the most unexpected spots. The track twisted in and out of itself in wonderful combinations (like flying though the station at high speeds).

It is the only ride at Dollywood that I will give a 10. I havent enjoyed a wooden roller coaster like this one in years! Although it is a great ride, I dont know if its worth paying $45 for the waste of the park that Dollywood is. Thats a lot of money for 3, maybe 4 decent attractions...

Review Comments

Pete C on 7/13/2006 9:34:15 AM said:
Id like to to know why Dollywood is horrible, and a waste of a park. The park is one of the most beautiful out there. It has a good selection of rides for the family, and 2 coasters...one of which is world class, the other being solid.
larrygator on 7/14/2006 12:05:54 AM said:
I think it is pretty clear that he feels $45 is too much for 3 or 4 decent attractions.
Pete C on 7/14/2006 12:39:26 PM said:
Lack of attractions doesnt make a park horrible. If there were rude employees, trash or unkempt attractions, poor operations...then I could understand a statement like that. However, to complain about number of attractions and price when you know both of those factors before you even leave the house is ridiculous. If all they were looking for were thrill rides and coasters, they should have gone to a Six Flags. This park is the opposite of horrible. I can honestly say I have never heard anyone say something that negative about this park.
coasterf42 on 7/14/2006 1:59:32 PM said:
^Thats a little much. If the park really does only have a few things worth riding and it costs 45 bucks to get in, he has a reason to dislike it. Considering you can get into Cedar Point for 40 bucks, Geauga Lake for 25, and a Six Flags PASS in some places for less than 60 dollars, he doesnt deserve to be blasted. I think he brings up a good point. Plus, you have to pay more to get into Dollys waterpark.

PS not quite sure on the $ amounts, but they are close.
Pete C on 7/14/2006 4:26:46 PM said:
Dislike is a little different than "horrible" and "waste of a park".
BobFunland on 7/14/2006 4:35:10 PM said:
I love Dollywood - its easily one of my favorite parks, but I think it IS expensive if you are just going there to ride. Thats why, sadly, enthusiasts will keep giving Holiday World awards that could easily be swept by Dollywood.
woofboy111 on 7/15/2006 2:53:36 AM said:
My big problem with Dollywood wasnt necessarly the number of rides that the park had. Ive been to parks with much fewer rides and been plenty satisfied. The big problem that I had with the park was that they charged $45 (plus $9 parking) to get in, and then once inside the majority of the park was a themed gift shop. Gift shops go with theme parks, but Dollywood seemed to be one continous gift shop. Even stuff that looked like it could have been a minor attraction like the part of the park with the blacksmith and the glass blower all turned out to be heavily themed gift shops. To see that type of stuff, I could have gone somewhere else for a better example of all that for a much lower price and not be in a retail store the whole time. If Dollywood had more major rides or attractions that didnt try selling you something to even out with the giftshops, I may have thought a bit higher of the park.
nyeboy9 on 7/15/2006 3:34:00 PM said:
I really enjoy this park. I agree that the price to get in is high and it has only a few attractions. This is changing however as Dollywood is adding more thrill rides every year (i.e. Mystery Mine, Thunderhead). Timber Tower was a let down, but Im going to ride it again since they made some changes to it.
Dukeis#1 on 7/16/2006 5:47:14 PM said:
Woofboy111, Ive been reading through your reviews for Dollywood, and too me, it looks like you were going to the park looking for faults, and that is what youve highlighted in your reviews. Dollywood is not a thrill/ride park - it doesnt advertise itself as one. The website has descriptions of all the rides and the admission prices. You could have easily decided whether or not the park would appeal to you just by looking online.

It appears that your primary theme park experiences are in Orlando, so you are somewhat "spoiled". Dollywood is VERY nice as far as regional parks go - If you think this place is "horrible", Id love to see your reaction to a bottom-of-the-barrel Six Flags.
woofboy111 on 7/16/2006 10:57:11 PM said:
I wasnt going to Dollywood looking for faults in the least. I went to Dollywood to have a good time at a theme park that I had only heard good things about for the most part. The parks faults just seemed to be overly apparent to me. I was not expecting the park to be a thrill park (although I must admit that Dollywoods two coasters and mountain slidewinder did provide some good thrills), but I was expecting at least more to do in the park than a half days worth besides shopping when I pay $45 to get into the park. As for shows, there were 4 total that were playing when I went. All of the rest were closed. Perhaps I am spoiled in the Florida theme parks, but let me state that I was completely satisfied spending a day in the old Cypress Gardens before wild Adventures took it over when the park had the bare minimum amount of rides, so I do enjoy myself at parks even without rides.

I did go to Dollywoods website, and I was actually suprised at what certain rides were not because of tricky wording in the parks propaganda. As for the bottom of the barrel six flags parks, I cant say Ive been to the smaller ones. Just GA and Great Adventure. Going to a six flags though, I would be going with the sole intention of riding roller coasters, because besides from the coasters in these parks, Six Flags parks suck when it comes to theming and all that other stuff (although its been years since Ive been to one).
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics