Home > Connecticut > Lake Compounce > Boulder Dash > Review Comments

 Review of Boulder Dash @ Lake Compounce
0 Rating Posted by: Canobie Coaster on 7/26/2005 5:51:00 PM
Year after year Boulder Dash receives acclaim from numerous websites, enthusiasts, and magazines as one of the best wooden coasters. The hype certainly is there. Even Lake Compounce knows it and displays the ride's impressive honors at the ride's entrance. But as with all world-renowned coasters, does it live up to the hype? Simply put, yes.

Let me start off by saying that this is easily one of the most picturesque coasters on the planet. The way that the ride carves the mountainside dodging trees and boulders is just breathtaking. The ride works the mountainside so well that it's first half is a mystery no matter how many times I ride, and it's an out-and-back coaster! That really says something about how well hidden the layout is from view.

Lines for this usually are on the short side, rarely exceeding 20 minutes for any seat. I find the back and front about equal in terms of ride, but the front is better simply because of the incredible view offered as the ride flies through the woods.

Boulder Dash begins with a tranquil climb up the mountain and is followed by a slow turn. The ride then flies down the first drop, gaining an incredible amount of speed. Following that are two rather large hills. Unfortunately none of those three hills delivered air-time like I had hoped for, but after that the ride flat out delivers, launching me skyward every single hill that follows. The first half had many changes in direction and was really out-of-control, delivering nice floater air along with decent laterals thanks to the immense speed, but the ride just becomes even better during the second half.

While the first half is good, the second half is incredible. Once flying around the lateral-filled turnaround, Boulder Dash just seems to kick it into high gear, flying so gracefully over the many bunny hills during the return leg, each providing very good air. It really is true coaster bliss for an enthusiast. The second half just is incredible and heck I think the ride even accelerates during the return leg. I especially loved that double up hill since that was a new element compared to my previous rides.

Boulder Dash really is a world-class coaster, combining a great setting, a relentless pace, copious air, and laterals all in one package. But how does it stack up to other coasters? Well it’s excellent, but there are a few minor gripes that keep it firmly at number three on my list of best woodies. One, the ride only has one major drop and I really wish it had at least one more. Two, I just really would have liked air during the first three hills. Despite this, Boulder Dash still is a great wooden coaster and definitely one of the best because of the incredible setting, air, and intensity it provides ride after ride.

Review Comments

ibluv on 7/26/2005 6:26:51 PM said:
Welcome to the site, King Yoshi. Sorry you were disappointed by BD. How many times did you ride it? It like all wooden coasters is unpredictable and some rides are better than others. If you rode it just once you probably caught it on one of its rare bad rides.
larrygator on 7/26/2005 10:09:23 PM said:
or if you rode it in the morning. BD really gets better as the day moves on. If I had ridden BD only 1,2 or even 3 times I probably would have only given it a 8, but boy were the next dozen rides GREAT. I see you Phoenix at #2 so it good to see that you are not just a wood hater.
Canobie Coaster on 7/27/2005 7:51:48 AM said:
I have gone on Boulder Dash 21 times. Every time I rode it, I received no airtime, even at night. However, I do agree the ride is better at night, but I still got no airtime.
adriahna on 8/17/2005 4:24:40 PM said:
Weird - no airtime, eh? I didnt know that was possible on a coaster like BD. It was airtime heaven when I rode it - only second to the Phoenix, really.
skierman on 8/17/2005 5:07:10 PM said:
Thats weird. How many trains were they operating? If they were only operating one, then yeah I dont think there would be much airtime since the track wouldnt have time to warm up. But if there were 2 trains, thats really weird.
Paul on 8/21/2005 6:31:36 AM said:
Everytime Ive ridden this coaster, I also have always been flying out of my seat ...so thats weird.
CoastrGlxy on 8/22/2005 10:51:04 AM said:
Got loads of airtime on my rides too. Maybe your lap bar was supertight.
Canobie Coaster on 8/23/2005 10:29:47 AM said:
My lapbar doesnt touch me, and the last 2 years I have gone on it, there were two trains running. Still, no air-time. I even believe that the Yankee Cannonball, Excalibur, and Dutch Wonderlands Sky Princess Have More air-time, and only one train operates. Even the Wildcat has more air-time than Boulder Dash.
Canobie Coaster on 8/23/2005 10:30:04 AM said:
What seat gives the most air-time?
ibluv on 8/23/2005 6:24:17 PM said:
For me the very back gives the best air, but its almost always good no matter where I sit. I also find that the yellow train has a little more air than the red one, dont ask me why.
skierman on 8/23/2005 8:13:01 PM said:
I felt like the front seat gave me the most, and its also an awsome view to be the first one in the train whil your zooming at 60 mph down the side of a mountain .
Canobie Coaster on 8/24/2005 6:56:01 AM said:
Thats odd, because last year, I rode the yellow train in the front, and the red one in the back, and I got no air-time.
ibluv on 8/26/2005 11:33:04 PM said:
Yellow train seat 23=best possible airtime seat.
Canobie Coaster on 8/27/2005 7:24:21 AM said:
I havent ever been in the back on the yellow train, so I will try it.
vbarbieri on 7/6/2006 3:04:10 PM said:
Speaking purely from a "laws of gravity" standpoint if one person gets airtime, unless you weight 300 + pounds, all normal sized people will get airtime. It is Galileos "Theory of Motion" principal. When you go over the top gravity ceases to exist for that split second and you go up and out of your seat (Zero Gravity). It happens when you go over the hills and create a parabola. Now I am not telling you to change your score but if airtime is your reason for pulling a point from this attraction you need to give it back you got airtime it is IMPOSSIBLE for you to go over the hill and not get airtime unless you are able to defy the "laws of gravity".
Canobie Coaster on 8/12/2007 9:33:34 AM said:
Yesterday I finally got insanely good rides on Boulder Dash. I updated my review. I rode it twice in the yellow train. Once in the back and once in the front.
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics