Home > Ohio > Kings Island > Grand Carousel > Review Comments

 Review of Grand Carousel @ Kings Island
1 Rating Posted by: adriahna on 8/24/2003 8:58:00 AM
Perfectly situated beneath the Eiffel Tower, this 1926 marvel of craftsmanship is fully deserving of a 10 rating. Its history alone is incredible, but Ill get to that. The horses are a sight to behold - two signature standers and a great armored (which is featured in William Manns "Painted Ponies", on page 97). The rounding boards and mirrors are perfect, and the band organ is a wonder in itself. Its the only Wurlitzer 157 youll be listening to, in perfect tune, for a long time to come. Call me a hopeless geek, but I actually used to bring a tape recorder to the park, and make recordings of this great organ - still have them today. As to the carousels history, it came from Cincinnatis Coney Island (Philadelphia Toboggan Companys showcase park - this carousel is PTC# 79), and survived the 1937 flood, although parts of it were found as far off as Memphis, Tennessee. Restored to magnificence, and lovingly kept, its here for us to enjoy. Im a great fan of this machine - I came to love carousels dearly thanks to it, and Im so happy that PKI is tending it with the love it deserves. If you look closely, you might still be able to find my initials that the head painter added to one of the horses chestplates - a white stander with the letters "DAB" on the martingale. One of those proud little moments in my life - knowing that Ive been connected to this grand machine in just a simple, little way. Enjoy - its a gem, and a most important part of Cincinnatis, and Americas, history.

Review Comments

adriahna on 11/12/2004 10:33:25 AM said:
So Ive heard, Anon - about the coasters. But yessir, that carousel is way up on the list, and highly regarded by carousel folks. The frame on that machine is pristine PTC, and the chariot horses alone are a really rare and beautiful feature. Magnificent carvings overall. I just hope that Elitch is taking care of that carousel - its practically a landmark.
Scott on 11/15/2004 6:27:35 PM said:
I live right near Elitchs and it seems to be doing great the paint is staying on nicely and Elitchs often touches up on it. One problem is that the horses pulling the charriot are being preserved so you cant ride on them (that could be good or bad depending on if you want to ride on them or not). Music is still pumped out of the organ and provides a relaxing ride I never miss. Unfortunatly when one side of the carousel (spelling?) has to much weight it scratches against the concrete creating a problem with wood chipping off and its begining to get obvious.
adriahna on 12/2/2004 8:49:45 PM said:
Yikes - I wonder how concerned, or even really aware, of that weight problem the park management is. Certainly the platform could be balanced out - it might cost a relatively small amount, well worth it considering the overall care of the machine.
Scott on 12/7/2004 6:19:09 PM said:
Its more if the carousel is running empty and a large group gets on the same side it happens. If I remember in the spring ill contact them.
adriahna on 12/10/2004 10:48:50 AM said:
Very cool. Thanks - I appreciate your concern for this machine. It really is a gem. Its funny - I just remembered that I actually have an old music box (eh, maybe just 20 years old, actually) that features a bisque statuette of one of the Elitch Gardens chariot horses! Just the fact that the Willitts company made one shows how important that carousel is among us fanatics...
Scott on 12/10/2004 6:01:17 PM said:
Im not a big carousel fan but any nice old carousel deserves at least an 8.
BobFunland on 1/29/2005 12:16:36 AM said:
adriahna, just a question, you love the carousel, but you carved your initials in it? I know we all do crazy things as kids, but why? Wouldnt that be like seeing the President wipe his hands with the Declaration of Independence? I dont really care TOO much, just it kinda suprised me, especially from you, being the carousel enthusiast that you are.
adriahna on 1/29/2005 10:18:27 PM said:
Oh, no, Bob - Id never do a thing like that, you should know me better!!! Actually, I should have been more clear about this... long story. My initials are PAINTED on the chestplate of a "stand-in" outside row stander. If you look closely (unless the practice has been discontinued), the standers all have initials painted there - not carved. When I met the man who painted the horses (Bill Tull - he was a gem), he was circulating the horses, and using the stand-in to temporarily replace each stander as he touched them up in the shop. We took an instant liking to each other as fellow carousel and band organ fanatics, and he decided to paint my initials on the stand-ins chestplate. So, anyhow, rest easy - you can be assured that, even under threat of torture, Id NEVER disfigure a carousel figure.

Oh, by the way, Bob - just to make things clear, I went ahead and updated my review - I dont want anyone getting upset!!! Thanks for pointing this out...
BobFunland on 1/29/2005 10:49:00 PM said:
Oh, that is perfectly cool. I just took it the wrong way, the most negative way possible (typical human nowadays ).. That is actually pretty cool that the guy did that in your honor. Also, thanks for the little bit of carousel history/traditions. I really should have known you better, please accept my apology.
adriahna on 1/30/2005 1:14:49 PM said:
No sweat. Re-reading my first version of the review, I saw where you were coming from. All cleaned up now - and no hard feelings whatsoever.
papa1958 on 6/4/2007 9:55:32 AM said:
Adriahna: Fine review. I know you have commented on several excellent band organs, for example, at Kings Island, at Lake Compounce and at Westchester/Rye Playland. Any thoughts on which one reigns supreme?
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics